Barbur Room pres. BRM New Talents 034 by HOAX (BE) from Belgium.

BRM New Talents mix by HOAX (BE)

The word ‘Hoax’ is usually used negatively, commonly associated with deception and deceit. HOAX (BE) adopted the name to subvert people’s expectations: a break from the norm, and not what you might expect.

Energetic; Emotional; Evolving. HOAX (BE) is a rising Belgian electronic producer and DJ specialising in melodic and progressive house and deep techno. With previous releases on labels like Sony Belgium, Loud Memory, Black Lizard and Blanco Y Negro, HOAX (BE)’s sound is rooted in expressing emotion through melody and slick, evocative production as he looks to make his mark on the electronic landscape in 2023 and beyond.

Inspired into producing music by his experiences at Belgium’s legendary Tomorrowland festival, HOAX (BE) began exploring various electronic genres, initially producing and performing disco at open-air parties before exploring the deeper shades of house championed by acts like Purple Disco Machine, Tinlicker, Ben Bohmer and Jan Blomqvist.

Self-taught on YouTube videos from the age of 15, HOAX (BE)’s productions are typically highly emotional while remaining firmly rooted on the dancefloor. From the disco-tinged funk of tracks like Hot For You and Deeper Love – both of which have clocked up hundreds of thousands of plays on Spotify – to the epic, progressive scope of 2022’s Vision of You – his music has a clear through line and consistency without ever coming across as formulaic, and is consistently energetic, emotional and evolving.

In 2022 HOAX (BE) made his DJ debut in Ibiza, playing three parties across the summer including a B Jones-hosted pool party, with other performances coming in Miami for WMC and Amsterdam for ADE.

01. Sebjak – Nobody Lives There
02. Cassius – Go Up (Butch Remix)
03. Notre Dame – Set Of Rules /w Dancin
04. Nic Fanciulli – Leap Of Faith
05. Max Freeze – Mesmerize
06. Shouse – Won’t Forget You /w Mezcal
07. Trikk – Regado
08. Joseph Ray – Give Me A Reason
09. Einmusik – Arrival
10. Alt-j – Breezeblocks (Tinlicker Remix)
11. Stereo Express – Revision
12. Weekend Heroes – Faceless
13. Fred Again.. & Animal Picnic + 19:26 – Jungle XX [Hoax (BE) Revise]




Comments are closed.